5 Places to Cut Your Own Christmas Tree Near Vancouver

5 Places to Cut Your Own Christmas Tree Near Vancouver

Most Christmas trees sold in B.C. weren’t grown here. Business in Vancouver reporting from about two years ago put provincial sales at roughly 550,000 cut trees a season. Only about 150,000 of those were grown in the province. Cutting your own tree is one of the easier ways to get a local tree. It also gets you a cold morning outside and a reason to drink hot chocolate.

This guide sticks to places that have already posted their 2026 plans. The Fraser Valley farms below have opening dates on their own websites. The earliest is Pine Meadows in Chilliwack, on Saturday, November 14. For people on the Sea to Sky, there’s also a free provincial permit to cut a tree under the power lines near Squamish, Whistler and Pemberton.

For each place you’ll find what’s actually there, the dates and hours the farm has posted, what it costs where that’s known, and a practical tip. Prices for 2026 are thin on the ground, so assume you’ll find out at the gate.

Where B.C.'s Christmas trees come from (cut trees per season)
Roughly 550,000 cut trees are sold in B.C. each season, and only about 150,000 are grown here (Business in Vancouver reporting, about two years old).

5. Sea to Sky power-line corridors (Squamish, Whistler and Pemberton)

Snow-capped Tantalus Range above forested hills near Squamish
Snow-capped Tantalus Range above forested hills near Squamish

Where: Designated Crown land under power lines near Squamish, Whistler and Pemberton

When: Online form available after December 1. 2026 permit validity dates aren’t posted yet.

Cost: Free.

Getting there: Use the district maps linked from the provincial permit page.

On the Sea to Sky, the main legal way to cut a tree in the wild is a free provincial Free Use Permit. You get the permit from the Natural Resource District where you plan to cut. The province’s Christmas tree permit page says the Sea to Sky online form becomes available after December 1.

The province publishes cutting maps for Squamish North and South, Whistler South and Central, and Pemberton North and South. In most cases you can only cut on Crown land under power lines. Cutting isn’t allowed on private land, in plantations, research areas or parks, or next to rivers, streams, lakes or swamps. Use the official maps rather than guessing where a corridor counts.

In 2025, according to the Squamish Chief, each permit allowed one tree per person and was valid until December 31. The 2026 permit conditions aren’t posted yet. Check again after December 1.

This isn’t a Lower Mainland option. The province issues no permits in the Chilliwack Natural Resource District because of population density and tree demand. If you head out, go prepared: carry your permit, bring chains and warm clothing, and don’t leave a pointed stump.

4. Calvin’s Christmas Trees (Mission)

The 1935 Mission City post office on First Avenue in downtown Mission (not the farm)
The 1935 Mission City post office on First Avenue in downtown Mission (not the farm)

Where: Next to the Mission Golf Course, Mission

When: Saturday, December 5 and Sunday, December 6, 2026 only.

Cost: Douglas fir $80 plus GST; noble fir $100 plus GST.

Getting there: Park at the Mission Golf & Country Club, 7983 Nelson Street. The farm is a short walk north.

Calvin’s is a small family farm next to the Mission Golf Course. The farm was first started in 1967. A later generation of the same family has since started it up again. About 2,000 trees grow there at different stages, from young stock to trees ready to cut.

The farm grows Douglas fir and noble fir. It’s a U-cut farm, with about 60 hand-sheared trees (5–7 ft) available. Saws and knee pads are provided. The knee pads are a nice touch, since you’ll be kneeling on wet ground to cut close to the base. There’s cider or hot chocolate while you’re there.

It’s open for one weekend only in 2026: Saturday, December 5 and Sunday, December 6. Trees start at $80 plus GST, according to the farm’s 2026 page. Noble fir is $100 plus GST. Delivery is available for a fee.

Local tip: with only two days of sales, go on the Saturday for the best choice. The farm asks visitors to park at the Mission Golf & Country Club, 7983 Nelson Street, and walk a short way to the farm.

Farm hours, saws and trees at a glance (2026)
FarmPosted daily hoursSawsTrees and extras
Pine Meadows (Chilliwack)9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Dec 23 (history page)Handsaws and wagons lent. Own handsaw or battery saw OK. No chainsaws or axes.U-cut and pre-cut. Free tree shaking.
Dogwood (Fort Langley)9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.Not statedNorway spruce, grand, noble and Fraser fir. Santa’s Hall. Weekend concession.
Frosty’s (Langley)U-cut 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Fresh-cut 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.Not statedU-cut and farm-fresh cut.
Calvin’s (Mission)Not posted (Dec 5 and 6 only)Saws and knee pads providedDouglas fir ($80 + GST) and noble fir ($100 + GST). Free hot chocolate or cider. Delivery for a fee.
Source: Each farm’s official website

3. Frosty’s Family Christmas Tree Farm (Langley)

White-fenced pastures and a red barn near 216 Street and 27 Avenue in rural Langley (not Frosty's farm)
White-fenced pastures and a red barn near 216 Street and 27 Avenue in rural Langley (not Frosty’s farm)

Where: 24488 52 Avenue, Langley

When: Opens November 28, 2026. U-cut 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily. Fresh-cut 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Cost: 2026 prices not posted.

Getting there: 24488 52 Avenue, Langley.

Frosty’s covers several acres in south Langley. It sells U-cut trees and farm-fresh cut trees. It opens November 28, 2026, the same day as Dogwood.

The hours are what set Frosty’s apart. The U-cut field is open 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily. The fresh-cut lot stays open until 6 p.m. daily. On a short December day, that extra hour and a half matters.

Local tip: if you can’t get there before 4:30 p.m. on a weekday, you can still go after work and buy from the fresh-cut lot. You lose the walk through the field, but you still get a farm tree. The farm’s website has the hours. It hasn’t posted 2026 prices.

2. Dogwood Christmas Tree Farm (Fort Langley)

The 1931 Fort Langley Community Hall in Fort Langley village, about 4 km west of Dogwood farm
The 1931 Fort Langley Community Hall in Fort Langley village, about 4 km west of Dogwood farm

Where: 8589 252 Street, Township of Langley

When: Opens Saturday, November 28, 2026. 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily. Closes Wednesday, December 9, 2026 at 4:30 p.m.

Cost: Trees $15 to $20 per foot depending on species; wreaths from $40.

Getting there: About 4 km east of Fort Langley village, at River Road and 252 Street.

Dogwood is an 18-acre farm at River Road and 252 Street. It sells U-cut trees and farm-fresh cut trees. The farm specializes in Norway spruce, grand fir, noble fir and Fraser fir. That’s a wider mix than many farms offer, so it’s a good stop if someone in the house has strong opinions about needles.

The farm’s website gives a 2026 opening date of Saturday, November 28. Posted hours are 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily. The farm closes for the season on Wednesday, December 9, at 4:30 p.m.

After cutting, you can warm up and take a family photo in Santa’s Hall. The concession sells hot chocolate and snacks on weekends only. The farm says it may close or open fields as it sees fit to save trees for the following year. If you have your heart set on a particular species, go earlier in the season.

Local tip: Fort Langley village is about 4 km west. Lunch or a walk in the village makes the drive out worth more than one errand. Trees are priced at $15 to $20 per foot depending on the species, and wreaths start at $40. The farm asks you to bring cash, as its card machine is often unreliable.

1. Pine Meadows Tree Farm (Chilliwack)

Fraser River, Chilliwack Mountain and Chilliwack farmland from above
Fraser River, Chilliwack Mountain and Chilliwack farmland from above

Where: 47036 Prairie Central Road, Chilliwack

When: Opens Saturday, November 14, 2026. 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily through December 23.

Cost: 2026 price not posted. Facebook lists U-cut at $80, year not stated.

Getting there: About 3 km east of Cottonwood Mall, according to the farm.

Pine Meadows is a family-run nursery and Christmas tree farm on Prairie Central Road. It opens before any other farm here, on Saturday, November 14, 2026. You can cut your own tree in the field or buy one that’s already been cut. The farm has grown trees since 1970, according to its history page.

The farm lends handsaws and wagons. You can also bring your own handsaw or a battery-powered reciprocating saw. Chainsaws and axes aren’t allowed. Once you’ve chosen a tree, the farm will shake out loose needles and bugs for free. That applies to U-cut and pre-cut trees alike.

The farm’s history page lists daily hours of 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through December 23. Check the main site for any 2026 changes before you drive out. The farm hasn’t posted a 2026 price. Its Facebook page lists U-cut trees at $80, but doesn’t say which year that price is from.

Local tip: the farm suggests taking a fresh one-inch cut off the trunk just before the tree goes in its stand. If the base dries out, resin seals the cut and the tree can’t take up water. The farm also suggests bringing rope and a tarp for the roof of the car.

When to go

  • November 14: Pine Meadows in Chilliwack opens.
  • November 28: Dogwood near Fort Langley and Frosty’s in Langley open.
  • After December 1: the Sea to Sky Crown land permit form becomes available.
  • December 5 and 6: Calvin’s in Mission, its only weekend.

Earlier is better at any farm. U-cut fields can close without much notice. Dogwood says it may close or open fields at its discretion to save trees for the next year. Another Langley farm has said that in one past season it had to close its U-cut after about 10 days. Weekday visits also get you more daylight in the field than a late Saturday afternoon.

What to bring

  • Outdoor shoes or boots, a warm jacket and a hat. Fields are often wet.
  • Rope or string to tie the tree to your roof rack, plus a tarp or blanket to protect the roof.
  • A handsaw if you prefer your own. Most farms lend them. Pine Meadows doesn’t allow chainsaws or axes, but it does allow battery-powered reciprocating saws. Dogwood provides hand saws and bans chainsaws, power saws and axes.
  • A payment backup. Check how each farm takes payment before you go.

Dogs and kids

Leave the dog at home for Pine Meadows, which doesn’t permit pets, and Dogwood, which allows no pets except service dogs with appropriate ID. Frosty’s and Calvin’s don’t post a dog policy, so call before bringing one. Kids are well served at Dogwood, which has Santa’s Hall for a family photo, and at Calvin’s, which has cider or hot chocolate.

Crown land rules on the Sea to Sky

  • The permit is free, but you must carry it at all times. Show it if a natural resource, conservation or peace officer asks.
  • No cutting on private land, in plantations, research areas or parks, next to rivers, streams, lakes or swamps, in juvenile-spaced stands, or in any area reserved for special use.
  • Most permits allow only one tree. Choose your tree before you cut.
  • Don’t leave a pointed stump.
  • No permits are issued in the Chilliwack Natural Resource District.

Highway and forest road conditions change fast in December. Chains and warm layers belong in the car.

Keeping the tree fresh

Make a straight one-inch cut off the trunk when you get home. Put the tree in its stand right away and fill it with water. If the base dries out, resin seals the cut and the tree can’t drink. Keep the stand topped up, especially in the first few days.

Getting there

All of these are driving trips. Plan your route with a mapping tool, because none of the farms post drive times from Vancouver.

  • Pine Meadows: 47036 Prairie Central Road, Chilliwack, about 3 km east of Cottonwood Mall.
  • Dogwood: 8589 252 Street, about 4 km east of Fort Langley village.
  • Frosty’s: 24488 52 Avenue, Langley.
  • Calvin’s: park at the Mission Golf & Country Club, 7983 Nelson Street, then walk a short way north to the farm.
  • Sea to Sky permit areas: use the district maps on the provincial permit page.

If you want the longest season, start with Pine Meadows in mid-November. If you like a short window and Douglas or noble fir, put Calvin’s weekend on the calendar now. Sea to Sky residents can wait for the permit form after December 1 and cut under the power lines for free. Plenty of other farms around Langley, Surrey, Richmond and Maple Ridge haven’t posted 2026 dates yet, so check their sites in mid-November if none of these suit you.

Get the weekend plan in your inbox. Burrard Bulletin is a free email on what’s actually on from Vancouver to Whistler. Sign up here.

Photo credits

Similar Posts