Smaller BC Ski Hills That Cost Half of a Whistler Day

Whistler.com, Tourism Whistler’s booking site, lists the 2026/27 Whistler Blackcomb one-day lift ticket at $295 at the peak rate. Half of that is $147.50. Every hill below comes in under that line, most of them by a wide margin.
The fairer comparison is Whistler’s $187 unrestricted adult Day Pass. That pass has to be bought before the season and packaged with accommodation on whistler.com. Even against that number, these community and family hills look good, with posted adult day rates running from about $64 to $109.
All prices are adult, pre-tax and in Canadian dollars unless noted. Some hills hadn’t posted 2026/27 day rates by Oct 23, 2026. Those are labelled as last season’s prices, and a few pages don’t name a season year at all, so confirm before you drive.

8. Summit Lake Ski and Snowboard Area (Nakusp)
Where: 2915 Hwy 6, Nakusp, West Kootenay
When: 2026/27 operating dates not verified
Cost: Adult full day $66; half day $50; night $30; 3-day punch $177
Getting there: Hwy 6 near Nakusp
Summit Lake is a small hill on Hwy 6 run by the Nakusp Ski Club. The rates page lists a $66 adult full day and a $50 half day. Night skiing is $30 for all ages.
Skiers 66 and over pay $22. Adult punch passes cost $177 for three days and $285 for five. The page says pass prices are staying the same as last year.
The rates page doesn’t name a season year, and 2026/27 operating dates weren’t verified. Check with the club before you plan a trip around it.
The hill is at 2915 Hwy 6, Nakusp. If you’ll ski more than once, the 3-day punch pass brings the adult cost down to $59 a day. The 5-day pass gets it to $57.
7. Baldy Mountain Resort (Oliver)
Where: Above Oliver, South Okanagan
When: All lifts Thursday to Sunday; 2026/27 dates and rates not posted
Cost: 2025/26 reference: adult $67 Mon to Wed, $82 Thu to Sun and holidays
Getting there: Road access from Oliver
Baldy sits above Oliver in the South Okanagan. Its posted 2025/26 adult full-day rates are $67 Monday to Wednesday and $82 Thursday to Sunday and holidays. 2026/27 day rates aren’t posted yet.
The kid pricing stands out. Children up to 6 pay $5, masters aged 75 and up pay $40 midweek, and a magic-carpet-only ticket is $20. Half days run 1:30pm to 4:30pm. Rates are on the lift tickets page.
The resort says all lifts run Thursday to Sunday. Monday to Wednesday is the cheaper rate, so ask what will be running early in the week before you commit to the drive.
Road access is from Oliver. A drive time wasn’t verified from an official source, so map it yourself and give the mountain road extra time in winter.
6. Mount Timothy Recreation Resort (Lac La Hache)
Where: 5398 Timothy Lake Rd, Lac La Hache
When: 2026/27 opening not verified; early-bird season passes until Nov 30
Cost: Adult full day $78.75 (season year not stated); magic carpet $18
Getting there: Timothy Lake Rd, Lac La Hache
Mount Timothy is a family ski hill in the South Cariboo. The homepage lists full-day passes at $78.75 adult, $59 youth (13 to 18), $56.75 junior (6 to 12) and $54 senior. A magic-carpet pass is $18.
The lift setup is a triple chair, a T-bar and two magic carpets. Two carpets is a lot of beginner terrain for a hill this size, and it suits families learning together. Kids 4 and under and skiers 80 and up ski free.
The page doesn’t say which season the day rates are for, so confirm before you go. The 2026/27 opening date wasn’t verified.
The resort is at 5398 Timothy Lake Rd, Lac La Hache. If you’re local, 2026/27 early-bird season passes start at $588 until Nov 30, and regular pricing starts Dec 1.
5. Harper Mountain (Kamloops)
Where: About 20 minutes from Kamloops
When: Weekends and holidays 9am to 4pm; Wed to Fri 9:30am to 3:30pm from Jan 6 into late March; daily Dec 19 to Jan 3 except Dec 25 (estimated 2026/27 schedule)
Cost: Adult full day $75.24 + tax; midweek $63.81; night $33.33 (season year not stated)
Getting there: Drive from Kamloops, about 20 minutes
Harper is a family ski hill with a lodge about 20 minutes from Kamloops. Its posted all-lifts rates are $75.24 for an adult full day, $63.81 for midweek or afternoon, and $33.33 for night skiing, all plus tax. Youth pay $56.19, juniors (6 to 12) pay $37.14, and tots ski free.
Beginners get a break here. A handle-tow-only ticket is $23.81 for adults, which is a cheap way to find out if someone likes skiing before paying for the whole hill. The lift ticket page doesn’t state a season year, so confirm before you go.
Lifts run 9am to 4pm on weekends and holidays. From Jan 6 into late March the T-bar and handle tow also run Wednesday to Friday, 9:30am to 3:30pm, with the chairlift from 12:30pm to 3:30pm. The estimated 2026/27 schedule on the season pass page has the hill open daily Dec 19 to Jan 3, closed Dec 25, though the hours page still shows last season’s Dec 21 to Jan 5 holiday dates, so check before going.
Midweek from Jan 6 into late March is the sweet spot at $63.81, though the chairlift only runs 12:30 to 3:30pm on those days. If you live in the area, the 2026/27 early-bird season pass sale runs Oct 1 to Nov 1. A drive time from Vancouver wasn’t verified from an official source.
4. Mount Cain (North Vancouver Island)
Where: Near Woss, North Vancouver Island
When: Weekends, select Mondays and holidays; mid-December to early April, conditions permitting
Cost: Adult non-member $74, member $64, plus GST; kids 12 and under free; membership $20
Getting there: Off Hwy 19 just south of Woss, then 16 km of gravel road
Mount Cain is a community-run ski hill staffed largely by local volunteers. Its lift pass page lists adult day passes at $74 for non-members and $64 for members, plus GST. A single membership is $20, and kids 12 and under ski free.
The hill opens weekends, select Mondays and holidays only, with lifts loading 9:30am to 3:30pm. Vancouver Island North’s tourism site lists a mid-December to early April season, conditions permitting. Exact 2026/27 dates weren’t verified.
Turn off Hwy 19 just south of Woss and follow a 16 km gravel road, and carry winter equipment. Tickets aren’t sold online: the booth sells them Friday 7 to 9pm and weekend mornings 8:30am to 1:30pm, and the ski shop after that.
3. Manning Park Resort (Hwy 3 east of Hope)

Where: 7500 Hwy 3, E.C. Manning Provincial Park
When: Lifts 9:30am to 4pm Dec and Jan; 9am to 3:30pm Feb to Apr; 2026/27 dates not posted
Cost: 2026/27: adult full day from $64 (dynamic pricing)
Getting there: Hwy 3, 45 minutes past Hope; about 2 hours from Vancouver per the resort’s chamber listing; allow extra time in winter
Manning Park is a small downhill area inside E.C. Manning Provincial Park. The resort’s online store lists 2026/27 adult full-day tickets from $64. Pricing is dynamic, so buying early gets the lowest rate and same-day or on-site tickets cost more.
2026/27 lift tickets are now on sale through the resort’s online store, though an opening date isn’t posted yet on the resort’s own pages. The $64 figure is a starting rate; with dynamic pricing, your date may cost more. Check the online store for current rates.
The winter page lists lift hours of 9:30am to 4pm in December and January, and 9am to 3:30pm from February to April. The park also has cross-country ski and snowshoe trails. That helps if part of your group doesn’t downhill.
The resort is at 7500 Hwy 3. Its business listing puts it 45 minutes past Hope and 2 hours from Vancouver. Allow extra time in winter conditions. Winter tire rules apply on Hwy 3. Buy your ticket online the day before or earlier.
2. Sasquatch Mountain Resort (Hemlock Valley)
Where: 20955 Hemlock Valley Rd, between Mission and Agassiz
When: Winter 2026/27; opening date and night-skiing schedule not posted
Cost: Adult $69 Mon to Thu, $99 Fri to Sun, $109 same-day, before tax
Getting there: 154 km east of Vancouver via Hwy 1, Hwy 11, Hwy 7 and Hemlock Valley Road; winter tires required
Sasquatch has moved to flat day-of-week pricing for winter 2026/27. Adults pay $69 Monday to Thursday, $99 Friday to Sunday and $109 for same-day or window tickets. Youth and child tickets are cheaper; check the lift ticket page for current rates.
That makes this one of the easier family days in the Fraser Valley. Prices are on the lift ticket page.
The resort hadn’t posted an exact 2026/27 opening date in this research. Check the operating calendar before you go, especially if you’re counting on night skiing.
Sasquatch is at 20955 Hemlock Valley Rd, 154 km east of Vancouver, and the resort calls it a 2-hour drive. Take Hwy 1 east to Abbotsford, Hwy 11 north to Mission, then Hwy 7 east. Turn left on Morris Valley Road at the Sasquatch Inn, then left onto Hemlock Valley Road. Check the resort’s directions page for parking and winter road advice before you go. Buy ahead: a Monday to Thursday ticket booked in advance is $40 less than walking up.
1. Mt Seymour (North Vancouver)

Where: Mount Seymour Provincial Park, District of North Vancouver
When: Anticipated Dec 11, 2026 to Apr 4, 2027; 3Ski valid Sunday 4:30pm to Friday close
Cost: 3Ski: $139 adult, $119 youth, $79 child for three visits, plus $5 RFID card
Getting there: Mt Seymour Road (closed 10pm to 7am, November to April) or free shuttle from East Vancouver or North Vancouver
Mt Seymour’s 3Ski pack is one of the cheapest ways onto a lift in this roundup. Three adult visits cost $139, which works out to about $46 a visit. Youth aged 13 to 18 pay $119 and kids aged 5 to 12 pay $79 for the same three visits. New cards carry a $5 RFID fee.
The catch is timing. 3Ski is valid from Sunday at 4:30pm through Friday close, and not on holidays. Blackout dates are Dec 19, 2026 to Jan 3, 2027 and Feb 13 to 15, 2027. Once you’ve used your three visits, you get 20% off further day or night tickets, and no reservations are needed. Details are on the 3Ski page.
The resort lists Dec 11, 2026 as its anticipated opening day and Apr 4, 2027 as its anticipated closing day. 3Ski passes go on sale Nov 3. Early and late in the season the resort may not stay open past 4pm, so check the hours of operation before planning an evening.
Mt Seymour Road closes from 10pm to 7am daily between November and April. The free shuttle from East Vancouver or North Vancouver is included with 3Ski. The obvious play is a weeknight run after work. Leave when the lifts stop, because the road closes at 10pm. Seymour’s regular 2026/27 single-day price wasn’t on an official page at time of writing.
| Column 1 | Column 2 |
|---|---|
| Mt Seymour | Dec 11 2026 – Apr 4 2027 (anticipated) |
| Harper | Weekends/holidays 9–4; Wed–Fri 9:30–3:30 from Jan 6 into late March; daily Dec 19–Jan 3 except Dec 25 (estimated) |
| Manning Park | 9:30–4 Dec–Jan; 9–3:30 Feb–Apr |
| Mount Cain | Weekends, select Mondays, holidays; 9:30–3:30 |
| Baldy | All lifts Thu–Sun |
How the half-price math works
The line is half of Whistler’s $295 peak one-day lift ticket, which is $147.50. The $187 pre-season Day Pass is the fairer comparison, but it has to be bought before the season and packaged with accommodation on whistler.com. The chart below shows both Whistler figures next to each hill’s adult day rate.
Some familiar names aren’t here. Whitewater’s $159 window rate is more than half of $295. Cypress and Grouse were left out because their 2026/27 day prices weren’t clear on official pages. Mount Washington says its 2026/27 day-ticket pricing will be announced before opening day.
When to go
- Midweek is cheaper almost everywhere. Sasquatch is $69 Monday to Thursday, Baldy’s lower rate last season was Monday to Wednesday, and Harper’s midweek rate runs Wednesday to Friday from Jan 6 into late March.
- Mt Seymour’s 3Ski doesn’t work Dec 19, 2026 to Jan 3, 2027 or Feb 13 to 15, 2027.
- Mount Cain opens weekends, select Mondays and holidays only.
- Several hills haven’t posted 2026/27 opening dates yet. Check the official page the week you plan to go.
What to bring
- Winter tires, and chains where the resort asks for them. Sasquatch’s directions say to carry snow chains, and Mount Cain says to bring winter equipment for its gravel road.
- A way to pay at the booth for Mount Cain, which doesn’t sell tickets online.
- Your RFID card if you already have one. Mt Seymour and Sasquatch both charge $5 for a new card.
Winter driving rules
BC drivers must obey winter tire and chain signs from Oct 1 to Apr 30. Some routes that don’t cross mountain passes or high-snowfall areas end Mar 31. The province’s winter tire page has the route list. Hwy 3 to Manning Park is one where the rules apply. Go prepared: check conditions before you leave and give yourself more time than the map says.
Mt Seymour road hours
Mount Seymour Road is closed from 10pm to 7am daily, November to April. The closure is listed on the same hours page as the season dates. If you’re driving up for a night session, plan to be down before 10pm.
| Hill | Cheapest adult option | Price | Catch | Season of posted price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mt Seymour | 3Ski, per visit | about $46 | Sunday 4:30pm to Friday close; blackout dates; buy three | 2026/27 |
| Summit Lake | 3-day punch pass, per day | $59 | Buy three days | Not stated |
| Harper | Midweek full day | $63.81 | Wed to Fri, Jan 6 into late March | Not stated |
| Manning Park | Full day, bought early | from $64 | Dynamic pricing; same-day costs more | 2026/27 |
| Baldy | Midweek full day | $67 | Monday to Wednesday | 2025/26 |
| Mount Cain | Member day ticket | $64 | $20 membership first; plus GST | Not stated |
| Sasquatch | Advance midweek | $69 | Monday to Thursday, bought before the day | 2026/27 |
| Mount Timothy | Full day | $78.75 | None posted | Not stated |
None of these hills is trying to be Whistler, and that’s the point. For the price of one peak day on the Sea to Sky, you could buy three weeknights on the Shore and still have most of your money left. The savings get bigger if you go midweek, buy ahead and bring kids young enough to ski free. Prices for 2026/27 are still filling in at several hills, so check the official page before you load the car.
Get the weekend plan in your inbox. Burrard Bulletin is a free email on what’s actually on from Vancouver to Whistler. Sign up here.
Photo credits
- Mountain view in Robson valley.jpg by Jakub Fryš (talk · contribs), CC BY-SA 4.0 (combined into a montage, cropped). Via Wikimedia Commons.
- Kicking Horse Ski Hill – panoramio.jpg by Jack Borno, CC BY-SA 3.0 (combined into a montage, cropped). Via Wikimedia Commons.
- Whistler Olympic Ski Jump (2389297398).jpg by Kyle Pearce from Vancouver, Canada, CC BY-SA 2.0 (combined into a montage, cropped). Via Wikimedia Commons.
- Mount Seymour Provincial Park, BC (DSCF9036).jpg by Trougnouf, CC BY 4.0 (combined into a montage, cropped). Via Wikimedia Commons.
- Gibson Pass Ski Area Orange Peak.jpg by Colin Stepney, CC BY-SA 4.0 (resized). Via Wikimedia Commons.
